Foodie Penpals – June

While reading another blog that I follow back in May, I found out about a Foodie Penpals program.  I was very intrigued, so I signed up to participate in June.  On the 5th of the month you are sent a list showing your penpal pairing via email. You send a package to a different person than who sends you a package. (I’m not completely sure why that is, though).

My penpal who sent me a package was Katie. Her blog is, http://walkinlooove.com/ and she lives just outside of Hartford, Connecticut. She checked out my blog and already knew of our dietary restrictions. I enjoyed chatting with Katie and checking out her blog. She sent me a great package full of things that I had not tried before. (Sorry I don’t have a good picture, our camera was broken at the time so I had to use my cell phone camera).

I was very excited when I received my package. I couldn’t wait to open it to see all the goodies Katie had sent.  Inside was:

  • Saffron Mango herbal tea
  • Organic nori sea snacks
  • Raw all natural kale crisps snacks
  • Dark chocolate coconut bar
  • 2 organic flavored peanut butter samples
  • Peruvian spice blend

Katie put a lot of thought and love in the package. She made cute little tags that she wrapped around each item explaining why she picked that item or suggestions on how to eat or what to eat the item with. I thought this was a great touch and wished that I would have done this in the package that I sent.

The penpal I was given to send a package to was Kara.  (She does not have blog) She lives in Michigan. Since she does not have a blog, she sent me a picture and post for me to add with this. I did find out the hard way that shipping isn’t very cheap. I tried to pick items that weren’t too heavy, but didn’t think about how big the items were. I needed a medium size box to ship it all. Once you get to a certain size box the price jumps and then with the weight, it would have been $10.85. With the flat rate medium box at the post office it’s $11.35 regardless of weight, as long as everything fits in the box. I went with the flat rate box and was able to add two more items to the package. I think next time I will try to find items that can fit in the small flat rate box that only cost $5.35.

Here is Kara’s post about the items she received from me:

“I am so happy that I participated in this month’s Foodie Pen Pal swap! It was my first month and Amanda sent me some amazing goodies. 🙂

Included in her package:

–          North India Baigan Bharta

–          Texas Pecan Coffee

–          Cinnamon Plum Black Tea

–          California Tomato BBQ Almonds

–          Specialty Piquillo and Artichoke Bruschetta

–          Coconut & Aloe Vera Water with Goji Berry and Lychee

–          Texas Rattlesnake Olive Oil

–          Passion Fruit Salad Dressing

Everything was perfectly intact, no small feat coming all of the way from Texas to my home in Michigan. I immediately brewed some coffee, and it was delicious! I also enjoy tea and look forward to steeping that very soon. I have a salad at least once a day and am always looking for variety for that – the olive oil, salad dressing and bruschetta help with that (just not all at once)! My husband has also enjoyed the bruschetta spread onto some bread. As someone who has yet to experience Indian cuisine, the Baigan Bharta eggplant dish seems like a good place to start. Amanda also recommended her veggie samosa recipe which I will have to try very soon.

Overall I received so many wonderful items, and I love the Texas theme! Thank you very much, Amanda. After a fun first month I look forward to next month’s swap as well.

– Kara”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Here’s information about the program:

-On the 5th of every month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. It will be your responsibility to contact your penpal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.

-You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal! 

-The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination!

-You are responsible for figuring out the best way to ship your items depending on their size and how fragile they are. (Don’t forget about flat rate boxes!)

-Foodie Penpals is open to blog readers as well as bloggers. If you’re a reader and you get paired with a blogger, you are to write a short guest post for your penpal to post on their blog about what you received. If two readers are paired together, neither needs to worry about writing a post for that month. 

-Foodie Penplas is open to US & Canadian residents.  Please note, Canadian Residents will be paired with other Canadians only. We’ve determined things might get too slow and backed up if we’re trying to send foods through customs across the border from US to Canada and vice versa. 

If you’re interested in participating for July, please CLICK HERE to fill out the participation form and read the terms and conditions.

You must submit your information by July 4th as pairings will be emailed on July 5th!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. thegrubbyhen says:

    This is such a fabulous idea and that is a lot of lovely looking goodies 🙂 I’ll have to look and see if there’s a similar project in the UK 🙂

    1. thinkeatlive says:

      I do believe that they have it in the UK. Email Lindsay, theleangreenbean@gmail.com, and ask her.

      1. I did it one month too, but found the shining cost me $16 (in Canada), so decided to give it a pass this time around. I didn’t receive a package, either, but that was totally my fault – turns out my email to the person that was sending my package never got sent! I found it later in my “drafts” folder. Oops.

      2. thegrubbyhen says:

        Thanks for the address 🙂

Leave a Reply

